So I filled out the form to deterring my most important love languages. Here is what I got…

Thank you for filling out the Personal Profile to discover your love language. You’ve taken an important first step Understanding your love language. With the information below, you can begin to Share more with your wife, and Love her in ways that she will appreciate more. Don’t forget – what follows is just the tip of the iceberg. To really understand your love language, we recommend Dr. Chapman’s book. It will help you unpack all the concepts we touch on here.

Interpreting and Using Your Profile Score:

The highest score indicates your primary love language – how you really understand your spouse’s expressions of love. It’s common to have two high scores (the highest score being 12), although one language tends to have a slight edge for most people. The lower scores in your profile indicate those languages you seldom use to communicate love and which probably don’t affect you on an emotional level in your marriage.

Profile Scores:

9 — Words of Affirmation
5 — Quality Time
0 — Receiving Gifts
7 — Acts of Service
9 — Physical Touch

Words of Affirmation

Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important – hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten. Kind, encouraging, and positive words are truly life-giving.

Physical Touch

This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face – they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive. Physical touch fosters a sense of security and belonging in any relationship.
Remember – this description just scratches the surface of one love language. There’s much more to help you really understand the love languages of you and your wife in Dr. Chapman’s book.

Knowing how you prefer to be loved is important for your marriage. It’s romantic to think your wife should just know how to love you – but it’s also a bit unrealistic, and can even be unfair to expect something of her if you’re not willing to tell her it’s how you prefer to be loved and appreciated in your marriage. Keep reading…